The Hydrogen Safety Journal is published by the Hydrogen TCP and covers the latest developments in this specialized field. Under the leadership of Dr Y. (John) Khalil, Editor-in-Chief, this peer-reviewed Hydrogen Safety Journal seeks submissions on topics of interest to hydrogen safety. Contributing manuscripts are invited from Hydrogen Safety Task 37, IEA Hydrogen TCP, and the international hydrogen community.

How to submit your paper

Please follow the instructions on the Guideline for authors.

Completed papers must be submitted directly to Dr. Khalil (Editor-in-Chief)

Primary contact email: ykhalil@ieahydrogen.org

Alternate contact emails: ykhalil@alumni.stanford.edu; khalil@alum.mit.edu


Journal Editorial Board

Editor in Chief

Y. (John) F. Khalil Ph.D., Sc.D.

Dr. Khalil is a subject matter expert in probabilistic risk assessment (PRA) and its applications in the nuclear, environmental, chemical, and toxicological fields as well as PRA applications to cyber & physical security vulnerability assessment and green supply chain risk management. His expertise also covers life cycle assessment (LCA) of new products and technologies.

He is an Associate Director of Research at United Technologies Research Center (UTRC) in the USA and a Fellow at the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom. Dr. Khalil is also a faculty member at Yale University, a member of Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering (CASE) and a past Fellow of the Center for Advanced Engineering Studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA.


 United Technologies Research Center (UTRC)

411 Silver Lane, East Hartford, CT USA

 (860) 463-2562, ykhalil@ieahydrogen.org 

Dr. Stuart Hawksworth

Dr. Stuart Hawksworth has worked in the area of Safety for 25 years, fulfilling a number of roles at the Health and Safety Executive’s Laboratory in Buxton in the UK. In the area of Hydrogen Safety, he has led and participated in a range of programmes, covering hydrogen vehicle refueling safety, the safety of hydrogen in the nuclear industry, and is currently involved in a number of activities supporting the UK gas industry and government regarding the introduction of hydrogen into the UK gas network.  

Tadahiro Shibutani , Japan

Tadahiro Shibutani has Ph.D. degree in Engineering from the Kyoto University, Japan in 2000.

He is Professor and Director at the Center for Creation of Symbiosis Society with Risks, Yokohama National University, Japan.

He is an expert in structural integrity and safety management of engineering systems such as chemical plant and power plant. His research interests are currently in the general areas of safety engineering, risk management, and prognostic health management. He has contributed support for government-sponsored “accident investigation relating High Pressure Gas Safety Act” as a committee member. He is also working as an expert of ISO TC 262 “Risk management”.

Dr. Tadahiro Shibutani is affiliated with the Yokohama National University in Yokohama, Japan. He is one of Japan’s foremost experts in all aspects of hydrogen safety, notably leakage, associated with Hydrogen Refueling Stations (HRS).

Center for Creation of Symbiosis Society with Risks, Yokohama National University

79-5 Tokiwadai, Hodogaya, Yokohama, 240-8501 Kanagawa, Japan

+81-45-339-3597, shibu@ynu.ac.jp

Prof. Changjian Wang, China

Prof. Changjian Wang established and currently leads the Institute of Energy Safety Technology at Hefei University of Technology. His research fields are on numerical and experimental studies of fire and explosion. He has hosted or participated in around 50 academic projects funded by the Chinese National Funding Bodies and industries, and published around 100 journal and conference papers including those in top journals like “Journal of Fluid Mechanics” , “Combustion and Flame” , ” Journal of Hazardous materials” etc. He is a member of Task 37 in IEA HIA and the Scientific Committee for the International Conference on Hydrogen Safety. He was awarded three Provincial and ministerial science and Technology Awards.


Hefei University of Technology

No.193, Tunxi Road, Hefei, Anhui, P.R.China, 230009

 +86-551-62901437,  chjwang@hfut.edu.cn 


Mary-Rose de Valladares, USA

Mary-Rose de Valladares is the founder and principal of M.R.S. Enterprises, LLC, a management consultancy in clean energy, sustainability and hydrogen. Mary-Rose has provided technical support on safety related matters for fire and building codes in the U.S.  As General Manager of the IEA Hydrogen TCP, she supervised the TCP’s safety tasks from 2004-2020.  An expert in the built environment, She holds an M.A. in Urban Planning and an MBA in international business.

As a former employee of the U.S. Department of Energy National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), she is a member of the U.S. national laboratory network.



Dr. Sesha Srinivasan, USA

Dr. Sesha Srinivasan is the Chair of the Natural Sciences Department and Assistant Professor of Engineering Physics at Florida Polytechnic University, Florida, USA. He has been recently awarded and placed on the US Fulbright Specialist Roaster for the tenure period 2021-2024. Dr. Srinivasan has more than two decades of research experience in frontier research areas such as renewable energy and hydrogen technologies, wastewater/leachate remediation via photocatalysis, thermal and thermochemical energy storage, thermochromic encapsulated materials for energy savings in building envelops, and multi-functional nanomaterials.

Dr. Srinivasan received his Ph.D. in Physics from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, India. After his doctoral degree, he had couple of years of Post-Doctoral work experiences at University of Hawaii and University of South Florida on hydrogen storage technologies program funded by various sources such as US-DOE, US-DOT, ONR-DURIP, Japan’s WE-NET, Florida Energy Systems Consortium (FESC), Quantum Sphere Inc, CA, and Hydrogen Florida Initiative (HFI). He has awarded with two US patents on Hydrogen storage nano-materials’ development and methodologies and one patent are currently pending at the USPTO. He has published fifteen book chapters and review articles, more than 120 peer-reviewed journal publications, and many more conference proceedings. Dr. Srinivasan is an Associate Member of International Association for Hydrogen Energy (IAHE) and reviewer for the journals, IJHE, Clean Tech, IJER, J. Nanomaterials. 

Natural Sciences Department

Florida Polytechnic University, Florida



Technical Focus Areas

The technical focus areas covered by the journal include but are not limited to:

  • Fundamental research (experimental and theoretical)
  • Applied research
  • Solid-state hydrogen storage materials dust cloud explosions and combustion characterization
  • Hydrogen storage materials’ reactivity and safety
  • Accident sequence development and quantification (e.g., hydrogen leak scenarios leading to fires and explosions, etc.)
  • Consequence analysis of hydrogen fires and explosions (e.g., property damage, injuries, etc.)
  • Safety analysis of hydrogen vehicles and infrastructures
  • Hydrogen safety best practices, training, and communications
  • Safety of hydrogen production, transportation, and distribution
  • Hydrogen supply chain risk management
  • Hydrogen safety in road tunnels
  • Life cycle assessment of hydrogen production technologies
  • Quantitative risk assessment (QRA) and qualitative risk assessment (QLRA) methods
  • Safety of hydrogen storage tanks
  • Hydrogen products safety (e.g., PEM fuel cells, portable hydrogen generators)
  • Unmanned aerial vehicles power by hydrogen
  • Hybrid-electric and all-electric aircraft powered by hydrogen and fuel cells.
  • Safety of hydrogen-based mobile and portable applications (e.g., forklifts, generators, etc.)
  • Hydrogen use in maritime applications
  • Hydrogen safety codes and standards